Early direct deposit posts your pay before the official payment date, usually two days before. Big national banks, credit unions, online banks, and payment apps all offer some version of it now, and none of them promise it every time: the same account can release your pay two days early one period and right on schedule the next.

Banks, Credit Unions, and Fintechs That Release Pay Early

The table below collects the institutions offering early direct deposit on at least one account, along with the accounts each one names. Rows are alphabetical, so you can scan for a bank you already use.

InstitutionHow EarlyAccounts Named
Affinity Federal Credit UnionUp to 2 daysAffinity Cash Back Debit Account
Alliant Credit UnionUp to 2 daysChecking and savings
Ally BankUp to 2 daysSpending Account
Axos BankUp to 2 daysAxos ONE, Essential Checking
Capital OneUp to 2 days360 Checking
Cash AppUp to 2 daysPlatform, not a bank; partner banks provide banking services
ChaseUp to 2 daysChase Secure Banking
ChimeUp to 2 daysTechnology company, not a bank; The Bancorp Bank or Stride Bank
Citizens BankUp to 2 daysPersonal checking, savings, money market
Consumers Credit UnionUp to 2 daysPersonal checking
CurrentUp to 2 daysAccount not specified
Fifth Third BankUp to 2 daysMomentum Checking, Momentum Savings, Express Banking, Preferred Checking
GO2bankUp to 2 days; up to 4 days for government benefitsGO2bank account
Huntington BankUp to 2 daysChecking
KeyBankUp to 2 daysChecking and savings
LendingClub BankUp to 2 daysChecking and savings
Navy Federal Credit UnionUp to 1 dayFree Active Duty Checking
PenFed Credit UnionUp to 2 daysChecking
Regions BankUp to 2 daysChecking
SoFiUp to 2 daysChecking and Savings
TD BankUp to 2 daysChecking and savings
USAAUp to 2 daysUSAA Federal Savings Bank account
VaroUp to 2 daysAccount not specified
WealthfrontUp to 2 daysCash Account (brokerage, not a bank)
Wells FargoUp to 2 daysChecking

Two rows break the pattern. Navy Federal Credit Union's Free Active Duty Checking is described as up to one day early rather than two. GO2bank goes the other direction for one category: government benefit payments may land up to four days ahead of schedule, while regular pay follows the usual two-day window.

A few names on the list aren't banks. Cash App and Chime are financial technology companies whose banking services come from partner banks, and Wealthfront's Cash Account is offered through a brokerage that moves funds to partner banks. The early-pay mechanics work much the same way, but the account structure behind them is different.

Five Large Banks Still Don't Offer Early Pay

Early direct deposit has spread widely, but not universally. Several of the biggest names in U.S. banking have no early paycheck feature:

  • Bank of America has no early direct deposit as of this writing.
  • Citi does not provide early access to paychecks.
  • PNC Bank doesn't offer it on any account, including Virtual Wallet.
  • Truist Bank, one of the 10 largest banks in the Federal Reserve's rankings, has no early-pay feature.
  • U.S. Bank doesn't offer it, including on Smartly Checking.

The list in the table above runs across categories: national banks with branch networks, credit unions open only to their members, online-only banks, and app-based providers. Chase, Wells Fargo, Capital One, TD, Regions, Huntington, Fifth Third, KeyBank, and Citizens are all on it. Whatever the five holdouts have in common, it isn't size or business model.

How the ACH Payment File Creates the Two-Day Window

Early direct deposit isn't the bank advancing you money. It's the bank posting funds as soon as it learns the payment is coming, instead of waiting for the official payment date.

The sequence runs like this. Your employer's payroll provider submits an electronic payment file through the ACH network ahead of payday. Your bank receives notice of the incoming payment, typically up to two days before the scheduled date, and can make the money available at that point rather than holding it. SoFi, for example, describes its timing as based on when it receives notice of impending payment from the Federal Reserve. Chime and Varo describe generally posting deposits on the day the payment file arrives, which may be up to two days before the scheduled payment date.

On a semimonthly cycle, a check dated the 15th can post on the 13th, once the payroll file has reached the bank. The 13th and 14th are then spendable days they wouldn't otherwise be. The amount is the same and the pay period hasn't moved; only the posting date has.

Payroll and Benefits Qualify, Venmo Transfers and Mobile Check Deposits Don't

The deposits that get early treatment are electronic ACH payments from a payer that submits instructions ahead of time. Alliant Credit Union's Early Payday terms spell out the categories clearly: eligible deposits are electronic ACH items such as payroll, pension, and government benefit payments to a personal account. Not eligible: person-to-person transfers through services like Zelle, Venmo, or PayPal, check and mobile deposits, and other online transfers or electronic credits. Alliant also limits the feature to personal accounts.

Capital One draws similar lines for 360 Checking, where the feature covers regular periodic payments such as salary, pension, or government benefits, and certain non-payroll and tax payments are excluded. Daily and transaction limits apply there as well.

Savings accounts can receive early deposits too, though that turns on two things: how the payer files the payment, and which product the bank has attached the feature to. Several institutions on the list above name both checking and savings.

Early Access Can Skip a Pay Period

Because the timing depends on the payer, not the bank, early access varies. Capital One states outright that eligibility may vary between pay periods and that you may not always see deposits arrive early. Alliant says early availability isn't guaranteed and may vary from deposit to deposit, and that whether funds are released early depends on when payment instructions arrive, any caps the credit union sets on early availability, and standard fraud prevention screening.

One reversal scenario is worth understanding. If a payer reverses or requests the return of a deposit that was already made available early, Alliant may debit the account for that amount, which can push the balance negative. Money released ahead of the payment date is still, in effect, provisional.

The very first deposit after switching accounts often isn't early at all. Cash App notes that a first deposit may take longer depending on the employer. That's typical: payroll systems need a cycle to register new routing and account details.

SoFi Pairs Early Pay With Interest on the Balance

SoFi Checking and Savings offers direct deposits up to two days early, with no minimum opening balance and no monthly fee. SoFi states it charges no account, service, or maintenance fees, while transaction fees apply to outgoing wire transfers, Instant Transfers, and global remittance transfers.

What separates it from a plain checking account is that balances earn interest. The APY is up to 3.10% with direct deposit, variable and subject to change, with rates current as of 5/28/26. A limited-time offer adds a 0.70% APY Boost on SoFi Savings on top of the 3.10% APY, up to 3.80% for up to 6 months, for new Checking and Savings accounts opened with Eligible Direct Deposit by 12/31/26.

There's also a direct deposit bonus of up to $400. New and existing Checking and Savings members who haven't previously enrolled in Direct Deposit with SoFi may earn:

  • $50 with at least $1,000 in total Eligible Direct Deposits received within 25 calendar days of the first Eligible Direct Deposit of $1 or more
  • $400 with at least $5,000 in total Eligible Direct Deposits received within 25 calendar days of the first Eligible Direct Deposit of $1 or more

The promotion runs from 5/15/2026 through 12/31/26, and the bonus amount is based on total Eligible Direct Deposits received in that 25-day window.

Direct deposit gates other features too. Overdraft Coverage is offered automatically to account holders receiving at least $1,000 in Eligible Direct Deposits within a rolling 31 calendar day period on a recurring basis, and it covers up to $50 in negative balances on debit card purchases only, not P2P transfers, bill payments, or checks.

SoFi also rounds up debit card purchases into a savings Vault. SoFi Bank is a Member FDIC (Cert. #26881), with $250,000 of coverage per depositor per legal category of ownership; deposits may be insured up to $3 million through the SoFi Insured Deposit Program. Its Trustpilot rating is listed as "Excellent" at 4.3/5.

Early Pay Shifts Cash Flow Forward Once

Early pay moves your cash flow forward a single time. After that first early deposit, you're still on the same pay cycle, just running it two days ahead of the dates printed on it.

What those two days are worth depends on the account they land in. Where the balance earns interest, as with SoFi's, the money starts earning from the posting date rather than the payment date, every period. Where it sits in a plain checking account, the gain is availability and nothing more.

What early pay doesn't do is change what the money has to cover. Autopay dates, rent, and loan due dates stay where they are. And because the bank is posting on notice rather than on settled funds, a balance spent during those two days can still be debited back if the payer reverses the deposit.

One more practical wrinkle: at most institutions, early pay attaches to specific products, not to the bank as a whole. Fifth Third names four accounts, Axos names two, Ally names its Spending Account. Holding an account at a bank on the list isn't the same as holding the account the feature applies to.

What Separates the Accounts Besides the Two Days

For most people, the deciding factor isn't the two days. Nearly every provider on the list offers the same window, so the differences that remain are fees, interest, and account terms. Interest-bearing accounts like SoFi's put idle pay to work.

Fintech apps such as Chime, Current, Varo, and Cash App tend to compete on fees and app features. Credit unions including Navy Federal, PenFed, Consumers, and Affinity fold early pay into membership-based accounts, and USAA serves a similar audience. Big-branch banks still suit anyone who wants a teller.

The fine print carries more weight here than the headline number.

Eligible deposit types, per-transaction and daily caps, personal-account-only restrictions, and what happens if a payer reverses a deposit all shape what early access looks like in practice, and those terms live in the disclosures for the specific account rather than on the bank's marketing page.